Elvington Village Hall

The Hall is situated in the centre of the village, at the end of the village green on the junction of Main Street and Church Lane.

The building was constructed in 1858, originally as the village school. It became the Village Hall in 1969 and was extensively altered in 1972.

The Hall was severely affected by the flooding in the village in 2000, necessitating thorough refurbishment during the following twelve months. The cost of this was £80,000. About £60,000 came through insurance cover, with the balance being paid from Village Hall funds and various local fund raising activities.

As a result of this programme, the Village Hall boasts excellent facilities and amenities for hirers and their guests.

The Village Hall is a registered charity and is administered by local volunteers through the Village Hall Committee, who also arrange various fund raising activities to improve the finances of the hall which were severely depleted as a result of the flooding.

The Hall needs the active support of villagers both for events that take place there and for the fund raising activities that are arranged to support it.


OFFICERS

The Village Hall is a Registered Charity, administered by volunteers through the Village Hall Committee which meets every two months. The AGM is usually in November.

The principal officers are:

Chairman: Richard Pearce 01904 607780

Secretary: Gill Jones 01904 608287

Treasurer: Philip Rees 01904 607902

Bookings Secretary: Marian Wellings 01904 607137


BOOKINGS

All bookings are made through Marian Wellings, Chequers Barn, Main Street Elvington, 01904 607137

Keys are held at The Village Shop and at The Grey Horse pub.

Hire Charges

Useful information for your booking